Chakras 101

To help you learn more about the properties of each chakra as well as which essential oils and crystals to work with, we’ve created an introductory guide for you.

Let's dive in!

The chakra system explains how life force moves through the body.

There are seven chakra centers that start at the base of the spine and extend all the way up through the crown of the head. Each chakra is an energy storehouse that plays a role in regulating the mind, body and spirit.

A post shared by Ebreyoguini (@ebreyoguini) on

Picture it like a beautiful swirling ladder where the first rung is our connection to the physical world and the top rung is the relationship we have with our higher self.

In a healthy chakra system, where the seven chakras are balanced, energy flows easily. This fluidity creates a sense of calming wholeness, boosts wellbeing and reduces stress and dis-ease in the mind and body.

To achieve this blissful state, we can work with each chakra’s color, positive affirmations, crystals and complementary essential oils to open any closed chakras where energy is blocked and unable to flow freely.

Let’s take a look at the seven chakras, their unique characteristics and tools you can use to help open them.

Root Chakra ~ (Muladhara)

The root chakra is located at the base of the spine and is the energy center of our basic survival needs and physical foundation. When the root chakra is balanced we can enjoy feelings of groundedness, stability, security and stillness. When it’s out of balance we might experience excessive fear, low energy or struggles with weight.

Color Therapy: Red

Positive Affirmations:

  • I am Safe
  • I am Secure
  • I am Peace
  • All of My Needs are Met

    Essential Oil Pairings:

  • Frankincense
  • Patchouli
  • Cedarwood
  • Vetiver
  • Myrhh

    Recommended Crystals:

  • Ruby
  • Garnet
  • Jasper

    Sacral Chakra ~ (Swadhisthana)

    The sacral chakra is located in the lower abdomen/pelvis and governs our emotions and sexuality. When this chakra is in balance we can experience creative flow and feelings of abundance and being deserving of a good life. When out of balance we might be unwilling to change, have anxiety, chronic tension o lower body pain.

    Color Therapy: Orange

    Positive Affirmations:

  • I am Abundant
  • I am Alive
  • I am Full of Energy
  • I Experience Pleasure
  • I Create
  • I Live a Life of Happiness

    Essential Oil Pairings:

  • Wild Orange
  • Rose
  • Ylang-Ylang
  • Patchoulli
  • Clary Sage
  • Bergamot

    Recommended Crystals:

  • Carnelian
  • Moonstone
  • Coral
  • Peach Aventurine

    Solar Plexus ~ (Manipura)

    The third chakra is located in the space between the stomach and the diaphragm and it is responsible for delivering energy to our vital organs. When this chakra is in balance we can enjoy feelings of high self-worth and self-confidence, being organized and in control of our destiny. When out of balance we might experience anger, an inability to finish tasks and even digestive disorders.

    Color Therapy: Yellow

    Positive Affirmations:

  • I am Limitless
  • I Accomplish My Dreams
  • I am Confident
  • I am Strong
  • I am Passionate Powerful
  • I am Capable

    Essential Oil Pairings:

  • Peppermint
  • Ginger
  • Clove
  • Grapefruit
  • Black Pepper
  • Coriander
  • Lemongrass
  • Rosemary

    Recommended Crystals:

  • Citrine
  • Rutilated Quartz
  • Sunstone
  • Yellow Aventurine

    Heart Chakra ~ (Anahata)

    The heart chakra is located over the sternum and near the heart. This chakra moves the healing force of love throughout our bodies and into the outer world. When in balance, the heart chakra allows us to be more compassionate and enjoy healthy, loving relationships. When this chakra is out of balance we might experience an overbearing ego, jealousy, attachment issues, feelings of being unloved and even high blood pressure or heart disease.

    Color Therapy: Green

    Positive Affirmations:

  • I am Love
  • I Love Unconditionally
  • I am Loved Unconditionally

    Essential Oil Pairings:

  • Lavender
  • Ylang-Ylang
  • Lemon
  • Geranium
  • Jasmine
  • Cypress

    Recommended Crystals:

  • Jade
  • Green Aventurine
  • Rose Quartz

    Throat Chakra ~ (Vissudha)

    The fifth chakra is located in the throat and is the energetic center of communication. When in balance we can enjoy speaking our truth, expressing ourselves creatively and communicating telepathically. When the fifth chakra is out of balance we might have a faint voice that’s hard to hear, creative blocks and/or sore throats.

    Color Therapy: Blue

    Positive Affirmations:

  • I am Honest
  • I Speak My Truth
  • I Express Myself Freely
  • I am a Communicator
  • I am Expressive

    Essential Oil Pairings:

  • Basil
  • Chamomile
  • Wintergreen
  • Bergamot
  • Peppermint

    Recommended Crystals:

  • Blue Calcite
  • Turquoise
  • Kyanite
  • Lapis Lazuli

    Third Eye Chakra ~ (Ajna)

    The third eye chakra is located between the eyebrows at the center of the forehead and is responsible for intelligence, wisdom, discernment and knowledge. When in balance we can enjoy seeing the divine beauty that surrounds, having a bird’s eye view and a strong intuition. When out of balance we might experience feeling limited, being confused, having blurred vision or even headaches.

    Color Therapy: Indigo

    Positive Affirmations:

  • I See Clearly
  • I am Intuition
  • I am Connected
  • I am Calm
  • I am Purpose

    Essential Oil Parings:

  • Focus Blend
  • Marjoram
  • Sandalwood
  • Patchouli
  • Clary Sage

    Recommended Crystals:

  • Lapis Lazuili
  • Quartz
  • Flourite
  • Sodalite

    Crown Chakra ~ (Sahasrara)

    The crown chakra is located at the top of the head and governs our connection with Source. When in balance we can enjoy elevated consciousness and bliss from understanding that everything is interconnected. When out of balance we might experience an inability to lean, alienation, apathy or depression.

    Color Therapy: Purple

    Positive Affirmations:

  • I am Divine
  • I am One with Myself
  • I am Beautiful
  • I am at Peace

    Essential Oil Pairings:

  • Frankincense
  • Helicrysum
  • Lavender
  • Rose
  • Roman Chamomile

    Recommended Crystals:

  • Amethyst
  • Fairy Quartz

    Chakra Crystals


    To get to know the chakra system better, you can work with our Chakra Stone Set.

    Crown Chakra - Amethyst

    Third Eye Chakra - Sodalite

    Throat Chakra - Lapis Lazuli

    Heart Chakra - Green Aventurine

    Solar Plexus Chakra - Yellow Aventurine

    Sacral Chakra - Peach Aventurine

    Root Chakra - Red Jasper

    Connect with us on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter or Snapchat and share which chakra, affirmation, crystal and essential oil you’re working with!